United Kingdom

World Cup matches today: The full list of Qatar 2022 fixtures and predictions for December 5


The last-16 stage of the Qatar World Cup is well under way with England among the teams already into the quarter-finals.

The 22nd edition of the quadrennial tournament, which began way back in 1930, is also the first to be held in an Arab country. The State of Qatar is the smallest country in size (11,600 km2) and population (2.7 million) ever to host.

The World Cup featured eight groups of four teams before the top two from each went through to this knockout round of 16, which is followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final

This format will be changed for the World Cup 2026 when the tournament will be expanded to 48 teams as the USA, Mexico and Canada co-host.

All World Cup matches today

Japan vs Croatia, 3pm UK time (BBC)

Brazil vs South Korea, 7pm UK time (ITV)

Today’s match predictions

By Jason Burt in Doha

To come

When did the knockout stages start?

The knockout stages of this year’s World Cup began on Saturday with the round of 16, before moving through to the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final. The first round of 16 match is on Saturday, December 3 at 3pm.

A total of 16 teams progressed to the knockouts. They were Netherlands, Senegal, England, USA, Argentina, Poland, France, Australia, Morocco, Croatia, Japan, Spain, Brazil, Switzerland, Portugal and South Korea.

What date is the World Cup 2022 final?

The last match of the World Cup will take place on Qatar National Day – Sunday, December 18. It will kick-off at 3pm UK time (6pm in Qatar, 10am ET, 9am CT and 7am PT) at the 80,000-seater Lusail Stadium.


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button