Nashville IndyCar: Event on hold for lightning in area

Health and safety regulations state that action cannot commence, nor spectators be allowed in grandstands, until there have been no lightning strikes within an eight-mile radius for at least 30 minutes. This is because of the potential perils of spectators in wet, metal grandstands, as well as tall masts all along pitlane and in the TV compound.


Unfortunately, soon after the Indy Lights race ended, the inclement weather moved in to the Nashville area, the rain bringing thunder and lightning too.

Understandably, IndyCar is remaining cagey on when track activity may resume, since a second storm cell is approaching the Nashville area.

If IndyCar declares it a wet race, entries are not obliged to run both types of Firestone dry tire compound even if the track dries up. However, should track activity resume in dry conditions, the grid line-up and stint 1 tire choice will be as follows:

PDriverTeamStint 1 tires
1Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske-ChevroletAlternate
2Romain GrosjeanAndretti Autosport-HondaAlternate
3Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan-HondaAlternate
4Alex PalouChip Ganassi Racing-HondaAlternate
5Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SP-ChevroletAlternate
6Josef NewgardenTeam Penske-ChevroletPrimary
7David MalukasDale Coyne Racing w/ HMD-HondaAlternate
8Will PowerTeam Penske-ChevroletPrimary
9Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan-HondaPrimary
10Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing-ChevroletPrimary
11Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan-HondaPrimary
12Dalton KellettAJ Foyt Racing-ChevroletAlternate
13Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank Racing-HondaAlternate
14Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing-HondaPrimary
15Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SP-ChevroletPrimary
16Kyle KirkwoodAJ Foyt Racing-ChevroletAlternate
17Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport-HondaAlternate
18Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing-HondaPrimary
19Callum IlottJuncos Hollinger Racing-ChevroletAlternate
20Takuma SatoDale Coyne Racing w/ RWR-HondaPrimary
21Simona De SilvestroParetta Autosport-ChevroletAlternate
22Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing-ChevroletAlternate
23Colton HertaAndretti Herta Autosport-HondaAlternate
24Devlin DeFrancescoAndretti Steinbrenner Autosport-HondaAlternate
25Jimmie JohnsonChip Ganassi Racing-HondaAlternate
26Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank Racing-HondaAlternate

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button