As Uddhav steps down, take a look at other CMs who quit before a floor test


Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray resigned as Maharashtra Chief Minister on Wednesday night. The announcement was made via Facebook Live shortly after the Supreme Court ordered the Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government to take a floor test to prove its majority in the Assembly on June 30.

Earlier in the day, Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari had asked CM Uddhav Thackeray to prove his majority on the floor of the house on Thursday. In response, Shiv Sena chief whip Sunil Prabhu had filed a plea in the Supreme Court challenging the same. However, The Supreme Court rejected the MVA government’s plea clearing the way for the floor test.


However, Uddhav Thackeray chose not to face the trust vote and resigned a day before the scheduled floor test. With the resignation, Uddhav Thackeray joined the list of Chief Ministers who resigned before a floor test.

Here’s a look at the CMs who resigned before a floor test in recent years:


MARCH 20, 2020: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath announced his resignation ahead of the Supreme Court-mandated floor test in the state assembly. Kamal Nath resigned because Congress did not have the numbers required to prove the majority in the house.

ALSO READ | Maharashtra govt gives nod to renaming Aurangabad as Sambhaji Nagar

The trigger for his downfall was the rebellion by Jyotiraditya Scindia, who left Congress on March 10, 2020, and joined the BJP a day later. Twenty-two MLAs, many of them Scindia loyalists, had already resigned by then, in protest against what they called an insult to their leader.

“All that has happened in Madhya Pradesh in the last two weeks is a new chapter in the weakening of democratic principles, ” Kamal Nath had said in the resignation letter that he handed over to Governor Lalji Tandon.


NOVEMBER 26, 2019: Devendra Fadnavis resigned barely 80 hours after taking oath as CM for the second time. The move was necessitated after the resignation of his deputy Ajit Pawar, citing “personal reasons”.

“After Pawar’s resignation, we don’t have the majority. We will not do any horse-trading,” Fadnavis had said while tendering his resignation.

Fadnavis had taken oath for the second term on the morning of November 23 with Ajit Pawar as his deputy. The move had surprised many as Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray was declared the CM-designate of the Congress-NCP-Sena’s MVA alliance a day earlier. After this, the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance decided to approach the Supreme Court against Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari’s decision to invite Fadnavis to form a government.

ALSO READ | Sanjay Raut’s eyebrow-raising remarks amid Maharashtra political turmoil


MAY 19, 2018: BS Yeddiyurappa, who was sworn in as the chief minister of Karnataka on May 17, 2018, resigned from his post on May 19, after the BJP failed to get the requisite numbers to show a majority ahead of the floor test in Karnataka assembly.

Before resigning, Yeddyurappa addressed the assembly, saying it was the BJP who had the numbers. “People have blessed us with 104 seats. The mandate wasn’t for Congress or JD(S). I have travelled throughout the state for the last two years and have seen the pain on the faces of people. I can’t forget the love and affection I received from people,”

In the 2018 Karnataka elections, the BJP emerged as the single-largest party but with a post-poll alliance, the Congress and the JD(S) successfully staked their claim to form the government.


JULY 16, 2016:- In a Supreme Court judgment on 13 July, Nabam Tuki-led Congress was restored in Arunachal Pradesh. After the judgment Arunachal Pradesh Governor Tathagata Roy had reinstated Nabam Tuki as the state Chief Minister and asked him to take the floor test to prove the majority of his government in the House.

On July 16, however, just hours before the scheduled floor test, Tuki resigned as the chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh.


FEBRUARY 20, 2015: Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi resigned ahead of a trust vote in the state assembly. The resignation was announced by Principal Secretary to Bihar Governor Brajesh Mehrotra.

Manjhi was handpicked by Nitish Kumar to succeed him after he resigned in 2014 following debacle in the general election. The JD(U) Legislature party, while agreeing to decision had asked Manjhi to be the chief minister till the next Assembly poll after which Nitish Kumar would take over from him. But, the plan went awry and a power tussle began between Manjhi and Nitish Kumar. Manjhi, rebelled against Nitish Kumar, and was expelled by JD(U) and was forced to prove his majority

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button