Editorial

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

YouTube is not merely a video hosting platform; it is a search engine. Yes, you read that right. It is, in fact, the second largest search engine behind Google on the internet. YouTube carries billions of searches per month. Whether you are looking for Spectrum internet prices or costume ideas for Halloween, YouTube has got you covered.  

YouTube’s web and mobile applications come with great features. One such feature is the “Restricted Mode”. This particular functionality automatically filters out mature and explicit content on YouTube.  


This feature is great when it comes to monitoring the viewing habits of children. You can also disable Restricted Mode if you do want to view all videos on YouTube. Keep reading to learn ways to turn off Restricted Mode on YouTube.  

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube?  

For Desktop Users 

  • Go to YouTube’s web application or any browser  
  • Click on your profile picture  
  • Locate the Restricted Mode option  
  • Click on the Off option to disable Restricted Mode  


For Android Smartphone Users 

  • Open the YouTube application on your Android smartphone  
  • Sign in to your account if you haven’t  
  • Click on your profile picture  
  • Tap the Settings option followed by General  
  • Located the Restricted Mode option  
  • Enable or disable Restricted Mode  

For Android Mobile Site Users  

  • Sign in to your YouTube account  
  • Locate the More option on the top right side of the mobile site  
  • Go to Settings  
  • Tap Restricted Mode to enable or disable it  

For Android TV Users 

  • Sign on to your YouTube account on Android TV  
  • Locate the YouTube app on your Android TV’s Home Screen  
  • Select the YouTube app  
  • Press the Settings option  
  • Select Safety Mode or Restricted Mode  
  • Enable or disable Restricted Mode using the remote control  

For iPhone or iPad Users 

  • Go to your YouTube profile on the YouTube iOS app  
  • Tap Settings  
  • Select Restricted Mode Filtering  
  • Tap the Don’t Filter option to turn off Restricted Mode  

For iOS Mobile Site Users 

  • Sign in to your YouTube account  
  • Locate the More option on the top right side of the mobile site  
  • Go to Settings  
  • Tap Restricted Mode to enable or disable it  

Frequently Asked Questions  


How Does Restricted Mode Work?  

YouTube uses several signals to identify and filter out potentially explicit content. It relies on the video title, Community Guidelines reviews, metadata, age restrictions, and description to monitor and filter out potentially sensitive content. If you enable Restricted Mode, you won’t be able to view comments on the videos you watch.  

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube in Public Institutions?  

In case you are using YouTube on computers in public institutions like colleges and libraries, you may not turn off Restricted Mode. In case if you’re facing problems trying to disable Restricted Mode, it is advisable to seek assistance from your system administrator.  

How to Turn Off Restricted Mode on Family Link App? 

The Family Link app lets you enable or disable Restricted Mode on your child’s YouTube account. To control Restricted Mode, go to the Family Link app’s settings. From there, you can enable or disable Restricted Mode. The best part, your child won’t be able to turn off Restricted Mode from any of their signed-in devices.  

Does Turning Off Restricted Mode on One Device Work Across All Devices?  

No. You will need to turn off Restricted Mode on every signed-in device to watch unfiltered content on YouTube. Why? Because changes to the feature do not automatically sync across all signed-in devices or web browsers. To enable or disable Restricted Mode across multiple devices, follow the steps mentioned above. You will need to access each device individually to turn Restricted Mode on or off.  

Conclusion 

YouTube is one of the biggest search engines in the world. Enabling Restricted Mode can prevent your children from getting exposed to potentially mature content. However, in case you want to disable the feature on a single device, you will have to do that manually.

Related Articles

Back to top button